Tick Tock


Tick tock tick tock
The clock’s mocking me
How old are you now? He asked
Twenty five – I said
You look like forty five. He smirked
I tossed my pillow
He fell – I could still hear he’s laughing

Tick tock tick tock
The clock’s murmuring
Your bed is always empty and cold
You sleep on the same pillow
Although you have four
Your biological clock’s racing
Oh, don’t waste your time anymore

 

Tick tock tick tock
I snatch my sleeping pills
Thinking of swallowing one or nine
Thinking of sleeping for awhile or just die
And think of mom and dad
How unfair to squander their efforts through these years
But… how unfair to hurl me in this scary world without my consent!

Tick tock tick tock
It’s only twenty seven minutes to dawn…
And the sun will soon come
And the dew
And hopes
And your smile
For that… I guess I can live another day

3 thoughts on “Tick Tock

Leave a Reply

