Why am I still single?


Oooops... :D_

“Why are you still single?”

I heard that question quite often, and I heard that again recently – coming from a stranger I met for the first time. That is normally not an easy question to answer. So I replied with another question (just to linger – while looking for a cool response):

“Why? Why do you ask why?”

Fortunately, I got a sweet reply: “Because you’re gorgeous. I assume there are many guys attracted to you.” (* flirty alert! * But I took that as a compliment :-)).

Well, I wish I had a sophisticated answer on “why are you still single” question. I never do. In fact, I don’t know exactly why I am still single until now. I mean… I don’t do it in purpose. I mean… if I had another option, I probably would take that.

My usual melancholic (and not-at-all sophisticated) answer is: because I haven’t found someone to change my single status to married. Some other times… I – with a wide smile – would say: that someone hasn’t found me yet.

🙂

I’m pretty sure that people naturally tend to coupled – to have someone who acts as a long-lasting partner in life. Two is better than one. However, life indeed does not always follow the universal rule. Therefore, some people (in much less percentage, I believe) prefer to stay single – not to even have a steady relationship.

“Are you too busy?”

That is a common question following the first one. The answer is definitely no. I am not busy. I have plenty time to sleep, to shop, to dine out, to clean the house, to do laundry, to play sudoku, and even to write a random post for my blog (as I do today). So… no. I work forty hours a week (sometimes a bit more), but I do have so much time set aside for my personal business.

But well, being too busy is a good excuse of being single🙂. I am grateful to live in this busy city and seem to have a busy life. Things would be much harder to bear if I were unemployed in a small town. Lucky me!

“You are too picky.”

That is a common accusation of my being single. Perhaps it’s not totally wrong, even though it doesn’t sound so right. I admit that sometimes I am so shallow-minded, too lazy in building relationship for some ridiculous reasons i.e. he’s not cute, he doesn’t have a cool job, he doesn’t laugh at my joke, he’s too short, he is too skinny, he’s bald, or that he’s too hairy🙂. Okay okay, I am picky, but NOT too picky🙂. Because I can actually handle a wide range of men with different background and interest. I don’t mind to hangout in a fancy restaurant or a middle-class warung, an expensive night-club or a cheap bar, a classy bookstore or a dark one which sells old-second-hand books, a lovely Seibu or a crowded ITC, an outdoor activity or simply playing cards or crosswords at home…

A single friend jokes around on this topic by saying that she is not picky… because she doesn’t even have options to pick😀.

Ya ya… the older we get, we should be smarter to provide funny-ironic ways in addressing status-related questions.

Back to the first question…

So, why am I still single? When I really think about it… maybe because I am better off this way (I doubt that!). Maybe I’m still on my way to become a better person (really? am I not good enough?). Maybe I am not ready to be in a serious commitment (oh I think I am! :-)). Maybe my life would be perfect if I finally take off my single blanket… and we all know that nothing is perfect in this challenging world. Or! Maybe I simply haven’t found the one who could make me say “I do.”

Ah, why don’t people just stop asking such question?

🙂

6 thoughts on “Why am I still single?

  1. wulanadian says:

    (I think) you are still single because you don’t give your relationship a chance to grow over the aforementioned ridiculous reasons.🙂 And on top of that, you’re like a magnet for bad romance.😀😀

    • very well-observed and concluded. bravo! i’m now working hard on seeing the beauty of both the fat and the skinny, the bald and the hairy😀

  2. Aisha says:

    Hahaha… You’re such a witty girl! Love your writing. I am single after 12 years in a relationship. Now am back to market – so we’re competing – LOL

  3. 12 years? that’s a hell of a time!🙂 well, looking at the way you write, I think the most suitable word for you is: congratulations! and yes, let’s enliven the market!!😀

  4. Simply want too say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your post is simply excellent and
    i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to
    grab your feeed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  5. Membership Account it’s a simple way to play animal jam onlkine with full features for
    every kid. Using an air purifier whose only by-product iis fresh, clean air takes a lot of the worry out of getting rid of hair.
    Your mother warned other players andd you far more than as soon as that sshe
    doesn’t want to seee yoou spoting any make-up appropriate now or making use
    of her cosmetics with out her understanding, correct.

Leave a Reply

