Alaska to Patagonia


A story about a ride from Alaska to Patagonia

Just recently a friend nudged me about something called: wild dreams. It was on my birthday, and she wished me good luck in reaching my wild dreams. I was stunned for a moment and suddenly felt so old. But instead of thanking her for reminding me, I told her: “I do have dreams, but they are not wild.” I was lying.

The fact is: there are wild dreams in my restless mind. Dreams which I am afraid of even think about since I was consumed with how to make myself settled. One of them – I think this is the wildest so far – is having a road trip from Alaska to Patagonia. I am firstly introduced to this idea by a Mexican friend when we met in Japan. He assured me about how great this trip would be. This is a famous motorbike route, he said. You will experience amazing moments especially when riding through Andes Mountain from Columbia to Patagonia, he added. It will start in Alaska, go south passing 12 countries for approximately 30,000 km, and will end in Patagonia, Argentina.

There are a lot of things need to be prepared. Having the perfect time – avoiding winter – is a necessity. Not to mention the visa stuff, gathering the group and matching the schedule, taking care of the insurance, etcetera… I know it won’t be as easy as flipping hands. But… hey! A dream, especially the wild one, supposed to be not easy🙂.

I remember telling my best friend about this plan long time ago (and she is the only one who knows it until now). I remember she laughed and said: “that’s crazy.” She thought that riding motorbike across the continent will incredibly be tiring. In my defense, I told her: “I am not going to ride the motorbike by myself. I will have a guy take me on his back seat.” So… yes, that’s another challenge🙂.

Nature and Me

I don’t normally connect perfectly with nature and outdoor activities although when I was young I spent quite a lot of time joining many girls scout outing events (i.e. camping, trekking) which have left a lot of scars on my legs. Since then I am no longer a big fan of sleeping outside and not-in-a-comfy-bed🙂. I don’t mind paying more for the sake of a nice sleep.

However, life is short. The Indonesian female’s life expectancy is about 74 years (based on CIA). Moreover, according to palmistry, my hand says that I will die young. So, I really should make the best of my given age (a friend laughed at me when I told her about this palmistry. She said the prediction is definitely false… “you’re not young anymore and you’re still alive”). What a joke!😀

That joke struck me quite hard, actually. I am getting older. But instead of chasing my wild dreams, I am busy looking for a good job with good money. And I am drowned in the crowded life in Jakarta. Superficial. To cheer me up, I convince myself that money is indeed important. Money will take me to Canada, one day. Money will even let me having this Alaska to Patagonia trip, one day.

Keeping wild dreams in mind is energising.

Leave a Reply

