Quantum Leap


We start our lives from different bars. Some have their start-point very low down there, some other are so lucky to begin at a high level. It’s not our choice. It is given. The parents… given. The nationality… given. The race… given. The face… is also given. So I think it is a motivational bullshit when someone says that every single person has the same chance to be happy. We definitely don’t. The chances are not the same.

“It is a motivational bullshit.”

Some people were born pretty, some were born idiot, some were born with diseases, some were born under the bridge, and some other were just born rich. It is a lie that the pretty has the same chance as the ugly, let say, to be chosen by a guy. For sure, the pretty most likely to be picked for a date, yes? C’mon, be honest. When you have two options in front of you: A. beautiful B. ugly, you will simply choose A. I will choose A. And since I’m a prettier girl now (than I used to be), I got picked more often🙂.

Jennifer Aniston is the daughter of actors John Aniston and Nancy Dow. Paris Hilton is Hilton’s heir. Megawati is Soekarno’s daughter. Tommy is Soeharto’s son. My friends’ parents are important people in the Government offices. And so on and so forth…

I am my parents’ little daughter. My father is a very talented person who didn’t get proper chance to be great. My mother is a very tough lady who didn’t get a decent bar to start her life. However, thanks to them, I guess I have made a pretty significant leap in my life. I will put it this way: I was born ugly (my uncle called me frog). But when I realized that a lady has to be pretty, I am doing some efforts to be pretty. I spent most of my teenage year in a small town which doesn’t have a mall. I studied in the biggest city in East Java, I had my first job in the capital of Indonesia, I got an opportunity to live in one of my dream countries, I had an interesting job which allow me to meet more various people (people who I never imagine I would meet).

The good news is everything is subjective. People have their personal preferences. Therefore, every one of us has a chance to be happy. Including me, who was born ugly. Including you, who were already born pretty.

Anyway, I made this post just to share with you all that sometimes we can’t reach some sky. Because we are bound with limitations. Our destiny is not limitless. One day I wanted to buy a Braun Buffel clutch bag which is not affordable for me (no, I can’t spend a million something rupiah for a bag). Another day I wanted to fly in business class (so far I flew in business class only once, paid by the State). Some other day I wanted to date a very attractive guy who is simply out of reach. I want to visit Canada, I want to live is US (or NL, hehehe), I want to stay a week in the best hotel (and don’t feel guilty about it), and the list won’t ever stop….

Oh my dear friends, it is untrue that we can do anything we want. Our leap is limited.

“We couldn’t choose how our lives started. However, we can determine which path we want to pursue” (taken from my novel: 100 Jam)

PS. The title is taken from a TV series I loved to watch when I was young. I’m not sure if the title is suitable for my post this time. But it’s quite catchy, no?

8 thoughts on “Quantum Leap

  1. vemiliam says:

    has the same chance tobe happy?
    if that same refers to the form, yes we dont have.
    since not everyone is (given or become) rich, smart, handsome, or got the top promotion.
    then i agree it’s motivational bullshit.
    if that same refers to feeling, we may have it.
    but it seems still a bullshit since, we tend to want what we dont have. and that kills happiness ;(

    out of its unsuitable, the title does remind me as one of my fave old movie🙂

    • it refers to how many chances everyone has.

      bahasa indonesianya gini: benar kalau dibilang tiap orang sama-sama punya kesempatan untuk bahagia. tapi… nggak benar kalau dibilang tiap orang punya kesempatan yang sama untuk bahagia (according to me, hehehe)

  2. AWA says:

    Quantum Leap: two thumbs up movie😀
    ———
    bahasa indonesianya gini: benar kalau dibilang tiap orang sama-sama punya kesempatan untuk bahagia. tapi… nggak benar kalau dibilang tiap orang punya kesempatan yang sama untuk bahagia (according to me, hehehe)
    ———
    btw pas di tulisan according to me itu lah menunjukkan tolok ukur yg berbeda utk sebuah ukuran kebahagiaan hehehehe……………..kesempatan mungkin tidak sama tapi untuk bahagia semua orang bisa…begitu ya mba??🙂

  3. wulanadian says:

    “Everybody has the same chance to be happy.” It’s true, you know…
    Happiness is not quantifiable like social achievement or financial success.
    Not everybody has the same chance to achieve a certain level of social or financial success. It depends very much -as you said- on the default bar we were born with.
    But as far as the word we are using is happiness, or contentment, yes, we all have the same chance to to reach it.

    “Tiap orang punya kesempatan yang sama untuk bahagia.”
    “The wind blows harder against taller trees.”

    • mmm… i would still say: no. we are all have the chance to be happy. but not the same chance…

      – sama-sama punya kesempatan untuk bahagia
      – tapi tidak punya kesempatan yang sama untuk bahagia

      — according to me🙂

      • vemiliam says:

        jadi maksudnya kesempatan yg sama, dalam bentuk form atau level khan..artinya dalam kesempatan yang berbeda…(hanya orang tidak mudah menyadarinya)

  4. vemiliam says:

    tapi aku bisa mengerti jika lu memaksudkan, “kesempatan yang sama” diartikan sebagai banyaknya alias frekuensi
    so then I will be onboard with Wulandian🙂
    krn akan timbul pertanyaan, emang idealnya tiap orang dijatah sama banyaknya ya dari Tuhan?

    • bukan cuma frekuensi, tapi juga bentuk.
      point utama tulisan ini adalah: hidup seseorang dimulai dari level yang berbeda, sehingga kesempatannya berbeda.

      contoh gampang:
      A anaknya mantan pejabat. peluang A jadi pejabat juga lebih besar dari peluang B untuk menduduki jabatan yang sama (ini konkrit, bukan sinetron, hehe). bukan semata-mata karena nepotisme. tapi karena A juga terbiasa melihat bapaknya bertindak sebagai pejabat. beda dengan B yang harus merangkak dari bawah untuk sampai di posisi yang sama dengan A.

      contoh gampang lainnya:
      Amalia itu IP-nya hampir 3.5. kesempatannya untuk kuliah di luar negeri lebih tinggi daripada X yang IP-nya cuma 2.75 (apalagi skr persyaratan semakin ketat). Amalia is happy when she got the scholarship. X is unhappy for his failure. Therefore, they have “not the same” chance to be happy.

      seperti itulah kira-kira. as simple as that.

      oh… ngantuk…

Leave a Reply

