Career Woman


Am I a career woman?
 
To answer to that question, I need to define the word “career,” because I am only convinced that I am a woman🙂. As usual, I rely things like this on Wikipedia. So here what I got:

Career is defined as an individual’s “course or progress through life (or a distinct portion of life)”. It is usually considered to pertain to remunerative work (and sometimes also formal education).

Based on that definition by Oxford Dictionary, sadly, I have to admit that yes, I am a career woman as many of you out there. But somehow I wanted to ensure myself that I am not merely an employee and deserve the term “career woman.” So I looked for another definition. This time by businessdirectory.com.

The progress and actions taken by a person throughout a lifetime, especially related to that person’s occupations. A career is often composed of the jobs held, titles earned and work accomplished over a long period of time, rather than just referring to one position

Get dressed for success!

So basically, nothing so special about this term! It’s so damn ordinary🙂.

Let’s shift the subject a little bit. I consider the term “career woman” is sexist because there is no such term as “career man.” It implies gender discrimination where career is meant only for men, while women who pursue this path need a term to call. Ugly truth, huh? Well, no need to feel bad about that. It’s no secret that the world has been working in patriarchical mode. That’s why many women all across the globe fight for feminism, for gender equality.

But not all women choose to be a career woman. Some of them choose to be the opposite: housewife. Housewives are those married women who do household chores and are not employed outside the house. But hey, interestingly, there is a term “househusband” too! Of course you can easily guess what that means.

So overall, women have three distinct options in life: being a career woman or being a housewife or… (read it like Barney‘s style :D) being a working mom! How wonderful that is! Women are blessed to have all terms necessary to describe their living. While men… they don’t have so many options, do they? For them, the choices are only to be successful or doomed🙂.

I heard a rumor saying that a housewife is the most noble profession. I would disagree to that statement. Well, it is indeed noble, but it is not a profession. And it hurts my pride a bit when I am partially respected just because I seem to care too much on my career. Well, the truth is, I don’t. I have to care on something. The fact that I haven’t given a house to be a wife to (hehe, what a weird idiom I make), make me put my attention on my career. Sometimes I call it a distraction🙂. If I was given different path, I would gladly stay at home doing that noble role: a housewife.

Having a chance to make decision to be one of those women is pleasure. None is superior over the others. They are equal. They are women.

 

3 thoughts on “Career Woman

  1. hey, it is new much better looks than previous one!
    nice😉

    my simply definition on “carrier woman”:
    -if she’s single, it is when she intentionally prefer to choose her carrier rather than to have a marriage. (there is kind of this type indeed, i believe it’s none of us ^^)

    -if she’s married, i’ll call her carrier woman when she has no sense of cooking (im not saying good in cooking, ya :D) or worstly sense of serving her family.
    Otherwise, i’ll just consider her as working mom😉

    • i know! right? i really like this theme!🙂

      btw, it’s career women not carrier😀 and it suppose to be translated as “wanita karir” not “wanita karier” haha!

      based on your definition… i am not a career woman! i do this just because i have no choice, haha!

      well, i would say i am a career woman *not* by choice, but by fate😀

Leave a Reply

